

Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife 353 Water Street, 41 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333 Phone 207-287-5261

APPLICATION TO CONDUCT A FISHING DERBY ON MAINE INLAND WATERS

Application Cost: \$24.00 (costs waived if event is for participants under age 16, with no cash prizes award and no entry fee)

Name of Applicant	:				
	First	Last			MI
Organization Name	2:	 			
Mailing Address: _					
St	treet/Road or Box #	City or Town		State	Zip Code
Email Address:		 	_ Phone Number: (_)	
Fishing Deby Date(s):		 Start Time:	End Time:		

List waterbodies below; OR check here if fishing derby is statewide (all legal Maine waters):

Waterbody Name	Town	County

Location of weigh-in:	

Targeted fish species: ______

Describe derby rules, categories, and prize structure (attach additional sheets if necessary):

Does the cash value of all prizes to be awarded exceed \$10,000? Yes_____ No _____

NOTE: It is a Class E Crime to obtain a permit through fraud, misstatement, or misrepresentation (Title 12 MRSA Section 10757)

Signature of Applicant: _____ Date: _____ Date: _____



Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife 353 Water Street, 41 SHS, Augusta, ME 04333 Phone 207-287-5261

PLEASE RETURN COMPLETED APPLICATION WITH REQUIRED FEE TO: Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife Fisheries and Hatcheries Division

353 Water Street, SHS 41 Augusta, ME 04333

Make check payable to: Treasurer, State of Maine

CONDITIONS OF PERMIT TO CONDUCT

2.04 Rules Pertaining to Fishing Derbies

A. Scope of Rules

- These rules shall be applicable only to fishing derbies as authorized by Title 12, M.R.S.A., Sections 12504 & 12504-A.
- B. Applications
 - 1. An application for a permit to conduct a fishing derby shall be on such forms as the department requires. The following information is required:
 - a. Name and address of the sponsor
 - b. Rules of the derby
 - c. Body(s) of water affected
 - d. Date(s) and time(s) of the derby
 - e. Prize structure
 - 2. (Repealed. This fee has been established by the Legislature, P.L. 1991, c.443)
 - 3. Applications for open water fishing derbies will be accepted after January 1 annually.
 - 4. Applications for ice fishing derbies will be accepted after September 1 annually.
 - 5. Applications for fishing derbies will be processed in order of receipt.

C. Restrictions

- 1. No fishing derbies will be permitted on any single body of water having a surface area of less than 100 acres and managed by the department for cold water fish species (trout, salmon and/or togue) or if the issuance of a permit would be inconsistent with the fisheries management objectives of the waters being affected.
- 2. Open water fishing derbies are not allowed to be held between April 1 June 15, except where fishing derbies are consistent with the fisheries management objectives of the Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife.
- 3. No more than 4 derbies will be permitted on any single body of water in any calendar year. County-wide or state-wide derbies shall not be counted as a derby on any one body of water.
- 4. The total cash value of prizes to be awarded at any single fishing derby (excluding door prizes) shall not exceed \$10,000, except:
 - a. when the derby is of a regional or statewide nature, involves more than a single body of water, or only involves waters not managed by the department for cold water fish species (trout, salmon and/or togue), in which case the total cash value of prizes to be awarded (excluding door prizes) shall not exceed \$25,000.
- 5. No derby shall occur at a public access facility in a manner that prevents non-event participants from launching and retrieving watercraft.
- 6. The Commissioner has the authority to put any condition necessary on any derby to assure that appropriate measures are taken to protect biological resources and address social concerns.

D. Requirements

- 1. Except as otherwise provided by law, all anglers in the derby must comply with the licensing requirements of Title 12, M.R.S.A., Sections 10751 to 10759.
- 2. A copy of the derby permit and a copy of the sponsor's rules affecting the derby shall be conspicuously displayed during each derby at a location accessible to all derby contestants.
- 3. Watercraft participating in an open water derby must be inspected for invasive aquatic species prior to launching and for a second time after the watercraft is retrieved from the water. Inspections may be performed by the watercraft operator, a passenger, or an available courtesy boat inspector.

It is illegal to transport live fish except for legal baitfish or smelts without a permit. A permit is required before live fish can be transported to stock water in the State of Maine. There is a \$10,000 fine for conviction of illegal stocking.